E-mail appreciation post

Technology is advance to the point where we take it for granted. Let’s take electronic-mail (e-mail) for example. I am going to be honest here, I don’t normally check my e-mail unless someone whatsapp/text messaged me that they have sent an e-mail over. Opening my e-mail can be a pain in the ass, having to sift through all those junk mails, notification mails that I don’t really care about, just to check what “important” mails I have missed. At one point of my life, I create loads of e-mail address just to create another gaming account in an attempt to “cheat”, especially games on Facebook. (Does this sound familiar aye) My point here is, it doesn’t really thrill me that much any more when I do receive a e-mail because it has become a norm.

Flashback to the early 2000s, when receiving an e-mail from someone is something exciting, so novel and intriguing.

Fast forward to 2014, where we (in general) have taken the novelty of receiving e-mail for granted. We perceive it as something so trivial, that we forgot to take a moment to step back and think. Think about how that particular someone behind the screen and keyboard took the time and effort to pen down the e-mail, and with a click of a button, send that particular e-mail to you across the globe within seconds. The someone can be an advertiser, designer, your boss on a holiday, your family members, or even your pen-pal, it can be anyone. Yet we, are taking this lightly, the fact that this amazing technology invention called the computer, and the internet has brought communication between me and everyone else so fast within seconds milliseconds.

Appreciate the e-mail you receive, bring back the novelty of e-mail.

tbh, I don’t really understand the point of this blog post? it was originally going to be about how rare it is to receive actual mail through the post man, but i don’t really know why it lead on to an e-mail appreciation post. just a random food for thought.

2 thoughts on “E-mail appreciation post

Leave a Reply

